Skip to content Skip to popular pages Skip to navigation
Civil Service Bureau The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
Brand Hong Kong - Asia world city
GovHK繁體版简体版
Default Font SizeALarger Font SizeALargest Font SizeA
SearchSubmit Search querySite mapContact us
   

 

 
Mobile / Accessible VersionPrinter View
Home > Letters to colleagues

Logo of Civil Service Bureau

 

 3 April 2014

 

 

Dear Colleagues,

 

 

Consultation on Extension of the Service of Civil Servants

 

 

             The Civil Service Bureau (CSB) has released today a consultation paper on extension of the service of civil servants.  The paper is available at http://www.csb.gov.hk/english/publication/2567.html.
 

             As set out in the consultation paper above, in the face of the demographic challenges arising from an ageing population and a shrinking labour force, the Government, being the largest employer in Hong Kong, considers it an opportune time to examine possible options for extending the working life of civil servants so as to enable us to better respond to such challenges.  At the same time, in anticipation of the higher wastage of civil servants in the coming years mainly due to the expansion of the Civil Service in the 1980s, we need to examine whether there are any operational and/or succession issues that require to be addressed.

 

             Against the above backdrop, CSB has conducted a study to assess the manpower and retirement situation in the Civil Service in the coming years, and to examine possible options for extending the service of civil servants after their retirement. 

 

             The consultation paper sets out the major findings of the study and the proposed framework embracing the following flexible retirement and employment initiatives for extending the service of civil servants –

 

 (a)   to adopt a higher retirement age for civil service new recruits as from a future date.  Specifically, we propose that for the civilian grades, the retirement age of new recruits should be extended by five years to 65, from a future date.  For the disciplined services, we propose that the retirement age for new recruits of all the disciplined services grades, regardless of their ranks, be set at 57, but may be further extended up to the age limit of 60 subject to an annual suitability assessment;

 

(b)  to provide Heads of Grade/Department with more flexibility to further employ officers, on a need and selective basis, after they have reached retirement age to fill civil service posts.  In this connection, we propose to make suitable adjustments to the existing mechanism on further employment.  As a related matter, we also propose that officers on further employment should not be eligible for consideration for promotion during the further employment period;

 

(c)    to introduce a new “Post-retirement Service Contract Scheme” for engaging retired officers on contract terms, on a targeted basis, to undertake ad hoc duties which require specific civil service expertise or experience; and

 

(d)   to streamline the control regime of post-service employment for non-directorate civil servants at junior ranks to facilitate their taking up of outside work after retirement, if they so wish.  

 

             The consultation will last for four months until 2 August 2014.  We look forward to receiving views and suggestions from staff, grade/departmental management and other concerned parties.  Taking into account the feedback received through this consultation and further examination of the relevant issues including the financial implications of the proposals, we will decide on the way forward and work out the implementation details.

 

             If you have any views on the proposals set out in the consultation paper, please forward them to CSB through one of the following means –

 

Mail:    Appointments Division

            Civil Service Bureau

               8/F, West Wing, 

     Central Government Offices

             2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar

             Hong Kong

 

Email:  views_retirement@csb.gov.hk

 

Fax:     (852) 2530 1265

 

             I look forward to receiving your views and suggestions which would facilitate us in mapping out the way forward. 

 

Yours sincerely,

The signature of SCS, Mr Paul TANG

(Paul TANG)
Secretary for the Civil Service

Back

 

 

Back to Top

 

2012 © Important Notices | Privacy Policy Last Revision Date : 02 May 2017

跳至主要內容 跳至常用內容 跳至網站導航
香港特別行政區政府公務員事務局
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通简体版English
預設字體大小A較大的字體A最大的字體A
搜尋提交搜尋内容網頁指南聯絡我們
   

 

 
流動/無障礙瀏覽版本列印版本
主頁 > 局 長 給 同 事 的 信
公 務 員 事 務 局 徽 章

各位同事:

 

 

就延長公務員服務年期進行諮詢

 

 

              公務員事務局於今日發布了有關延長公務員服務年期的諮詢文件。文件可於以下網址下載:www.csb.gov.hk/tc_chi/publication/2567.html

 

              正如上述的諮詢文件指出,面對人口老化及勞動人口萎縮所帶來的人口挑戰,政府作為香港的最大僱主,認為現時是適當時間探討可行方案,延長公務員的工作年期,從而更妥善應對這些挑戰。與此同時,基於有關原因尤其是公務員體系在八十年代的增長,預計未來公務員流失率會較高,我們須檢視會否出現運作及/或繼任問題而須處理。

 

              在上述背景下,公務員事務局進行了研究,檢視公務員未來的人手和退休情況,並就延長公務員退休後的服務年期,探討可行方案。

 

              諮詢文件載述研究的主要結果以及就延長公務員服務年期所建議的框架。有關框架包括以下一系列靈活的退休及聘用措施:

 

(a)    自一個未來日子起,提高新入職公務員的退休年齡。具體來說,建議將新入職的文職職系公務員的退休年齡提高五年至65歲。至於紀律部隊,建議將所有紀律部隊職系新入職公務員的退休年齡,不論職級劃一訂為57歲。之後,如能通過每年就其合適與否所進行的評核,紀律部隊職系公務員可進一步服務至60歲;

 

(b)    為職系/部門首長提供更多彈性,讓他們可在有需要時選擇性地繼續僱用已屆退休年齡的現職員工,擔任公務員職位。就此而言,建議對現行退休後繼續受僱的機制作出適當的調整。因應與此相關的事宜,同時建議退休後繼續受僱的人員在繼續受僱期間,不應獲考慮晉升;

 

(c)    推出一項新的「退休後服務合約計劃」,以合約形式聘用退休公務員擔任以這些人士為對象的非首長級崗位,處理一些要求特定的公務員技能或經驗的臨時職務;以及

 

(d)    精簡公務員離職後就業的規管機制,以便那些非首長級並擔任較低職級的公務員在退休後按其意願可從事外間工作。

 

              諮詢期會為時四個月至2014年8月2日。我們期待職方、職系/部門管方及其他有關各方提出意見和建議。在考慮了是次諮詢所收集到的意見,以及進一步研究相關事宜(包括有關建議的財政影響)後,我們會決定下一步路向和敲定實施詳情。

 

              如果你對諮詢文件內的建議有任何意見,可以下列任何一種方式向公務員事務局提出:

 

郵寄:          香港添馬

添美道2號

政府總部西翼8樓

公務員事務局

聘任政策部

 

電郵:         views_retirement@csb.gov.hk

 

傳真:         (852) 2530 1265

 

                                                     

     我期待收到你們的意見和建議,以助我們制定未來路向。

 

公 務 員 事 務 局 局 長  鄧 國 威 局 長 的 簽 署

 

二零一四年四月三日

返 回     Back to Top
 

 

2012 © 重要告示 | 私隱政策 修訂日期 : 二零一七年五月二日